A Self-denying Doctor

I once urged the attendees of a conference to deny themselves and obey whatever God told them to do. During a break, a man told me his story. As a college student, he felt God calling him to be a medical missionary. In obedience to God’s call, he entered medical school. Because he excelled in his studies, his professors urged him to do advanced work. Ultimately, he became an expert in the study of immune diseases and was invited to join the staff of a prestigious hospital .

His friends and family praised him for his accomplishments and told him how much good he could do by accepting that position. For several years, he worked at the hospital and became a leading expert in immune diseases. But during the conference at which he and I met, God convicted him that he had neglected to obey his call to missions. Now, well established in his career and supporting a family, he wondered if it was too late.

I cautioned him that the world urges us to protect, pamper, promote, comfort and prosper ourselves. But God tells us to deny ourselves. Well meaning family and friends want us to live close to them. They hope we’ll earn a comfortable salary and build a prestigious reputation but all of that may only be nurturing the very self Christ commanded us to deny.  I advised the Doctor to spend time with God and ask Him to clarify exactly what he wanted him to do at this stage of his life

Later, I heard that this physician had resigned his distinguished position and had become a missionary in Africa, in an area ravaged by AIDS. His expertize in immunology would now be used to build the kingdom of God. He had denied himself and now he was walking in fellowship with God experiencing God at work in his life in ways the Lord had always intended.

Authors-Henry & Richard Blackaby and Claude King. In their book ” Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing The Will of God

Ps: Only Jesus Christ can fill the void in your heart. If you feel there’s more to life than all you’ve accomplished, and you haven’t found Christ.

You are invited to do so today. Simply say this words ” Lord Jesus I acknowledge I am a sinner, I have struggled to live a good life and be a better person. I need you to come and be my Lord. Forgive me for my sins and give me power to sin no more. Thank you for forgiving me. Thank you for saving me in Jesus Christ name, Amen.

Praise God. You are saved. Live today like a victor.

Leave a Reply

